clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Blackhawks Jonathan Toews named Selke Trophy finalist

New, comments

For the second straight year, Patrice Bergeron, Anze Kopitar and Toews are 3 finalists for NHL's top defensive forward.

Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

For the fourth time in five years, Jonathan Toews has been named one of three finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, which is awarded "to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game," the NHL announced Wednesday night.

The Chicago Blackhawks captain is joined by Boston Bruins' center Patrice Bergeron and Los Angeles Kings' center Anze Kopitar for the second straight year.

Bergeron won the award in 2014 over Kopitar and Toews, and the Boston center has won two of the last three awards. Kopitar was also named a finalist for the Lady Byng, the award given to the player who best exhibits sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct.

Toews previously won the award in 2013, while guiding the Hawks to their second Stanley Cup in four years. He placed second in 2011 to Ryan Kesler of the Vancouver Canucks. Troy Murray (1985-86) and Dirk Graham (1990-91) are the only other Hawks to have won the award.

Toews spent most of the season lined up against the best players opponents had to offer, helping the Hawks tie the Montreal Canadiens for the fewest goals allowed in the NHL. He led all Western Conference players and ranked fifth in the league overall with a career-best +30 rating, ranked fourth in the league in face-off wins (947), sixth in face-off winning percentage (56.5 percent) and led all Hawks forward in ice time.

The trophy is named in honor of Frank J. Selke, one of the architects of Montreal and Toronto Maple Leafs championship teams. It has been awarded 35 times to 23 different players since the 1977-78 season.

The Professional Hockey Writers Association votes on the award.

Follow Second City Hockey on Twitter at @2ndCityHockey and Like us on Facebook. You can follow Brandon Cain on Twitter at @BrandonMCain.