clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chicago Blackhawks beat Tampa Bay Lightning to win their third Stanley Cup since 2010

New, comments

It's the first time Chicago has raised the Cup at home since 1934.

Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

The Chicago Blackhawks are Stanley Cup champions for the third time in six years after beating the Tampa Bay Lightning 2-0 in Game 6 on Monday night at the United Center. The victory clinched a 4-2 series win for the Blackhawks, who have now won Cups in 1934, 1938, 1961, 2010, 2013 and 2015.

The Blackhawks won the series opener against the Lightning before dropping two games to trail in the series. Chicago then rebounded with three straight victories to take the series and the Cup.

Duncan Keith scored the game-winning goal in Game 6 on a rebound in the second period. It was the cherry on top of an amazing postseason for the star defenseman who won the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP.

The previous two Stanley Cup victories for Chicago in the Jonathan Toews-Patrick Kane era came on the road. In 2010, Kane scored the game-winner in Philadelphia, and three years later, Dave Bolland scored the Cup-clinching goal in Boston. Now, the Hawks have finally won the Cup and hoisted in front of its home fans for the first time since 1934.

In 1938, the Hawks won the Cup in Chicago but the league decided not to bring the trophy for the trip because it assumed the heavily favored Toronto Maple Leafs would win. That makes this the first time Chicago fans have watched their team raise the Cup on home ice in 81 years.


It's time to celebrate and have some fun!