2016 World Cup of Hockey: Blackhawks' Artem Anisimov, Aretmi Panarin make Team Russia's initial roster

The Chicago forward duo will represent their home country.

Chicago Blackhawks forwards Artem Anisimov and Artemi Panarin have been named to Team Russia's 16-man roster for the 2016 World Cup of Hockey, the Ice Hockey Federation of Russia announced via press release Wednesday.

Anisimov, 27, has 18 goals and 34 points in 63 games this season for Chicago. Anisimov signed a five-year contract the day after he was acquired from Columbus in a multi-player deal in the offseason. The Yaroslavl, Russia native won gold at the 2014 World Championships and silver at the 2015 WC with Panarin.

Panarin, 24, leads all rookies with 22 goals, 35 assists and 57 points. The Korkino, Russia native won gold at the 2011 WC before playing in the 2015 WC. Chicago acquired Panarin in April on a free agent deal. Panarin previously played for SKA St. Petersburg of the KHL in 2013 and became an All-Star the following season, leading the team in scoring -- ahead of Ilya Kovalchuk -- with 26 goals and 62 points in 54 games. He added 20 points in 20 playoff games during SKA's Gagarin Cup championship run.

Artem Anisimov, Chicago Blackhawks
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Nikita Kucherov, Tampa Bay Lightning
Nikolay Kulemin, New York Islanders
Evgeny Kuznetsov, Washington Capitals
Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins
Vladislav Namestnikov, Tampa Bay Lightning
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Artemi Panarin, Chicago Blackhawks
Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis Blues
Dmitry Kulikov, Florida Panthers
Andrei Markov, Montreal Canadiens
Dmitry Orlov, Washington Capitals
Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets
Semyon Varlamov, Colorado Avalanche
Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning

This year's World Cup of Hockey, which represents the event's return after a hiatus, is set for September and will be held in Toronto. The format is slightly modified from the past World Cup tournaments, with six national teams and two special "all-star teams" participating.

The eight teams that will compete this year are the United States, Canada, Sweden, Finland, Russia and the Czech Republic, plus Team Europe and Under-23 Team North America.

Here is when the different teams will announce their initital 16-man rosters:

Team Finland: 4 a.m. ET via press conference in Helsinki

Team Czech Republic: 11 a.m. ET via press conference in Prague

Team Sweden: 12:30 p.m. ET at the MSG Training Center

Team Europe: 4:30 p.m. ET on SportsNet’s Hockey Central

Team North America: 5:15 p.m. ET on SportsNet’s Hockey Central

Team Canada: 6:05 p.m. ET on SportsNet’s Hockey Central

Team USA: 6:45 p.m. ET on ESPN’s SportsCenter