clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2016 NHL All-Star Game rosters: Patrick Kane the lone Blackhawk with Jonathan Toews out

New, comments

Only one Blackhawk for this year's All-Star Game.

James Guillory-USA TODAY Sports

The Chicago Blackhawks had two players named to the 2016 NHL All-Star Game but only one will be appearing at the event this weekend. Patrick Kane will be there in Nashville to represent the Blackhawks while Jonathan Toews takes the week off to recover from illness.

Kane was voted into the game as Central Division captain by the fans. Toews was included among the other All-Stars named by the league. No other Hawks made the 2016 team just a year after five different players were included as starters via fan vote. It's likely that result was part of what caused the league to change its voting structure this season.

Toews has been battling an illness and will miss the weekend, however. The captain sat out the final period of Chicago's 5-0 loss to Carolina before the ASG break and will also miss the team's Feb. 2 matchup against Colorado. Per NHL rules, any All-Star who misses the game must be suspended for the first game following the break.

Predators forward James Neal was named Toews' replacement, giving fifth-place Nashville four representatives as the host city. We'll just assume that's the reason so many players from the team will be there.

Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin will also be missing the weekend due to injury. Like Toews, he will be forced to miss his team's first game following the break.

Here are the complete rosters for the 2016 NHL All-Star Game following those updates.


Forwards: Jamie Benn, Dallas; Matt Duchene, Colorado; c-Patrick Kane, Chicago; James Neal, Nashville; Tyler Seguin, Dallas; Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis

Defensemen: Dustin Byfuglien, Winnipeg; Roman Josi, Nashville; Shea Weber, Nashville

Goalies: Devan Dubnyk, Minnesota; Pekka Rinne, Nashville


Forwards: Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary; Taylor Hall, Edmonton; Joe Pavelski, San Jose; Corey Perry, Anaheim; c-John Scott, Arizona; Daniel Sedin, Vancouver

Defensemen:  Brent Burns, San Jose; Drew Doughty, Los Angeles; Mark Giordano, Calgary

Goalies: John Gibson, Anaheim; Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles


Forwards: Patrice Bergeron, Boston; c-Jaromir Jagr, Florida; Leo Komarov, Toronto; Dylan Larkin, Detroit; Ryan O'Reilly, Buffalo; Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay.

Defensemen: Aaron Ekblad, Florida; Erik Karlsson, Ottawa; P.K. Subban, Montreal.

Goalies: Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay; Roberto Luongo, Florida.


Forwards: Nicklas Backstrom, Washington; Claude Giroux, Philadelphia; Evgeny Kuznetsov, Washington; Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh; Brandon Saad, Columbus; c-John Tavares, N.Y. Islanders.

Defensemen: Justin Faulk, Carolina; Kris Letang, Pittsburgh; Ryan McDonagh, N.Y. Rangers.

Goalies: Braden Holtby, Washington; Cory Schneider, New Jersey.


Jonathan Toews, Chicago; Alex Ovechkin, Washington