Chicago Blackhawks forward Marian Hossa scored his 495th career goal only to have it wiped off after a coaches challenge by the Arizona Coyotes.
Hossa entered the crease then skated out of it and was pushed back into it by an Arizona defenseman. Once back in the crease, Hossa made contact with Arizona's goaltender Louis Domingue.
The refree determined Hossa interfered with Domingue before the puck crossed the goal line.
According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."
Hossa's tally was wiped off then coach Joel Quenneville wanted a word with the officials. Quenneville had a few choice words with them and was given a two-minute minor. Coyotes defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson scored on the ensuing power play for a 1-0 lead in the first period.
Quenneville does not agree with the overturned goal cc @_DaveMelton pic.twitter.com/EY0PaGr7m7— Stephanie (@myregularface) February 5, 2016
he got a penalty for it cc @_DaveMelton pic.twitter.com/mp5PDlABJ2— Stephanie (@myregularface) February 5, 2016