clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 World Cup of Hockey: Team Czech Republic initial roster announced

Former Blackhawk Michael Frolik makes the list.

Dave Sandford/Getty Images

Former Chicago Blackhawks and current Calgary Flames forward Michael Frolik has been named to Team Czech Republic's initial roster for the 2016 World Cup of Hockey, it was announced during a press conference Wednesday in Prague.

No current Blackhawks made the list.

This year's World Cup of Hockey, which represents the event's return after a hiatus, is set for September and will be held in Toronto. The format is slightly modified from the past World Cup tournaments, with six national teams and two special "all-star teams" participating.

The eight teams that will compete this year are the United States, Canada, Sweden, Finland, Russia and the Czech Republic, plus Team Europe and Under-23 Team North America.

Here is when the different teams will announce their initital 16-man rosters:

Team Sweden: 12:30 p.m. ET at the MSG Training Center

Team Europe: 4:30 p.m. ET on SportsNet’s Hockey Central

Team North America: 5:15 p.m. ET on SportsNet’s Hockey Central

Team Canada: 6:05 p.m. ET on SportsNet’s Hockey Central

Team USA: 6:45 p.m. ET on ESPN’s SportsCenter