clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Artem Anisimov is the 8th member of the Blackhawks with a no-movement clause

You know how we thought seven NMCs was a lot? It's actually eight.

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

It turns out another member of the Chicago Blackhawks has a no-movement clause. Our pals over at Cap Friendly uncovered that Artem Anisimov's new contract, which goes into effect next season, has a no-movement clause through the 2017-18 season and a partial no-trade clause in 2018-19.

That means that eight different players on Chicago will have no-movement clauses through at least the next two seasons. No other team in the NHL comes close to having that many NMCs on the books, but GM Stan Bowman hasn't been shy in handing them out to well-liked players signing extensions.

Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane, Marian Hossa, Duncan Keith, Brent Seabrook, Niklas Hjalmarsson and Corey Crawford all join Anisimov in having no-movement clauses. Additionally, center Marcus Kruger has a no-trade clause that allows him to block deals to seven teams. In 2018-19, when Anisimov's NMC goes away, he'll provide the Hawks with a list of 10 teams he's approved for trades, effectively blocking deals to the rest of the league.

There's one big implication here beyond the increased difficulty in moving Anisimov starting on July 1, when his contract goes into effect. That's expansion, as the league has indicated every player with a NMC for the 2017-18 season will need to be protected. With eight players already in need of automatic protection, Chicago's hands are largely tied when it comes to making expansion draft decisions. Beyond those eight NMCs, they'll have the option to protect three more forwards or one more defenseman.

Anisimov was considered one of the possible casualties of the expansion draft, but now that seems highly unlikely. Unless he's willing to waive his NMC, Anisimov will be one of the many Hawks who gets automatically protected whenever the draft goes down.