clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrick Kane wins 2016 Ted Lindsay Award

Kane is the first Blackhawk and the first U.S.-born player to receive the award.

David Banks-USA TODAY Sports

Chicago Blackhawks star Patrick Kane won the 2015-16 Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL's most outstanding player, the league announced Wednesday at the 2016 NHL Awards at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

The award is voted on by fellow members of the NHL Players Association.

Kane, 27, led the league in scoring with 106 points, the most since Evgeni Malkin recorded 109 in 2011-12. He's the first Chicago player to accomplish that feat since Stan Mikita in 1967-68.

Kane's 46 goals and 60 assists are NHL career-bests. He never had more than 30 goals, 59 assists or 88 points in any of his first eight NHL seasons.

The Buffalo, N.Y., native is the first U.S.-born player to score 100 points since Doug Weight of the Edmonton Oilershad 104 in 1995-96. Kane is also the first Hawks player since Jeremy Roenick had 107 in 1993-94. Kane had 40 points during a 26-game point streak from Oct. 22 to Dec. 15 that was the longest in franchise history and the longest by an U.S.-born NHL player.

Dallas Stars winger Jamie Benn and Washington Capitals goaltender Braden Holtby were the other two finalists for the award. Benn, who led the NHL in scoring in 2014-15, recorded 89 points in 82 games with Dallas to finish second behind Kane in scoring. Holtby posted a career-high in wins (48), setting a franchise record and tying Martin Brodeur's NHL record for most wins in a season. He finished fifth in goals-against average (2.20) and eighth in save percentage (.922).

Benn and Kane are also candidates for the Hart Trophy, given to the league's MVP, which will be awarded at the conclusion of the awards show.