clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Build your Blackhawks dream team for a Stanley Cup simulation

Could your Blackhawks dream line beat the defending Stanley Cup champs?

2015 NHL Stanley Cup Final - Game Three Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Are you familiar with the “build a fantasy team” social media posts that involve choosing players with dollar values using a pre-determined budget? Most of them are honestly pretty bad if you ask us, so we’ve decided to create our own.

We pooled together 30 of the greatest players in Blackhawks’ franchise history, and gave them all values ranging from $1 to $5. With a total budget of $18, your task is to create a “dream line” of the best Blackhawks stars possible. You will be selecting a center, a left winger, a right winger, two defensemen, and a goaltender. Next week, we will be pitting some of the most rec’d lines in the comment section in a simulation against the 2017 Stanley Cup champion Pittsburgh Penguins using WhatIfSports’ simulation engine. Is it scientific? Not really. It will be fun, however.

Here is a list of the current and former players you can use. Make sure to post your dream line in the comment section below, and give some reasoning behind your choices/budget. The most rec’d lines will be simulated, so please vote for your favorites! Also, feel free to bash the value designations if you feel obligated...

Center (x1)

Value Player
Value Player
$5 Stan Mikita
$4 Jonathan Toews
$3 Denis Savard
$2 Pit Martin
$1 Doug Bentley

Left Wing (x1)

Value Player
Value Player
$5 Bobby Hull
$4 Jeremy Roenick
$3 Patrick Sharp
$2 Tom Lysiak
$1 Dennis Hull

Right Wing (x1)

Value Player
Value Player
$5 Patrick Kane
$4 Marian Hossa
$3 Steve Larmer
$2 Cliff Koroll
$1 Tony Amonte

Defensemen (x2)

Value Player Player
Value Player Player
$5 Duncan Keith Chris Chelios
$4 Brent Seabrook Doug Wilson
$3 Niklas Hjalmarsson Pierre Pilote
$2 Pat Stapleton Bob Murray
$1 Keith Brown Keith Magnuson

Goalie (x1)

Value Player
Value Player
$5 Tony Esposito
$4 Glenn Hall
$3 Corey Crawford
$2 Ed Belfour
$1 Jocelyn Thibault