clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blackhawks prospect camp 2017: Alex DeBrincat, Henri Jokiharju lead roster

It’s Alex DeBrincat time!

Erie Otters v Niagara IceDogs Photo by Vaughn Ridley/Getty Images

The Chicago Blackhawks released their roster for the upcoming 2017 prospect camp at Johnny’s IceHouse West on Tuesday. Alex DeBrincat and 2017 first-round pick Henri Jokiharju are among the prospects who will be in town trying to impress management.

The camp runs from July 17-21 — later than any other NHL team’s development camp — here in Chicago. The first four days will include a variety of drills and practices, while the final day features a scrimmage.

The roster is divided into two groups, which will go through the various drills before playing each other in the scrimmage. Most of the players invited have their NHL rights held by the Blackhawks. The rest of the roster is filled with relative unknowns who have signed amateur tryout contracts with the team.

A year ago, forward Alexandre Fortin showed up in camp on a PTO and played so well he earned an NHL contract from the Blackhawks. He’s back this year as part of the organization, and surely he’ll be the example that most of the unsigned prospects try to replicate.

The list is highlighted by DeBrincat, the Hawks’ second-round pick in 2016 who just finished an incredible season with the Erie Otters in the OHL. Of the 18 players selected by the Hawks in the last two NHL drafts, 15 will be in attendance.

The only recent draft picks who will not be in attendance are 2017 third-rounder Andrei Altybarmakyan, 2016 second-rounder Artur Kayumov, and 2016 seventh-rounder Jake Ryczek. Thirty-three of the 45 players expected to show up for camp were drafted by the Blackhawks.

Here’s the compete roster (all players on tryout contracts are in italics):

Group A

Forwards: Anthony Louis, Mathias From, John Dahlstrom, Luke Johnson, Matheson Iacopelli, Parker Foo, Liam Coughlin, Fredrik Olofsson, William Pelletier, Beau Starrett, Vincent Praplan

Defensemen: Henri Jokiharju, Lucas Carlsson, Joshua Ess, Dennis Gilbert, Jakub Galas, Roope Laavainen, Jake Massie, Robin Press, Darren Raddysh

Goalies: Wouter Peeters, Kyle Keyser, Hayden Lavigne

Group B

Forwards: Alex DeBrincat, Matthew Highmore, Radovan Bondra, Evan Barratt, Alexandre Fortin, Graham Knott, Nathan Noel, Roy Radke, Jack Ramsey, Dylan Sikura, Tim Soderlund

Defensemen: Chad Krys, Blake Hillman, Ian Mitchell, Ryan Shea, Luc Snuggerud, Andreas Soderberg, Joni Tuulola, Brogan Rafferty, Joey Keane

Goalies: Collin Delia, Matt Tomkins

Three players will be limited in camp due to injury, including Fortin, who turned an undrafted free agent invite to last year’s camp into a contract with the Blackhawks after he impressed their front office with his play.

Prospect camps begins next next Monday and runs through Friday, all at Johnny’s IceHouse West (Located at 2550 w. Madison Street in Chicago, about one mile west of the United Center). The prospects will practice from approximately 1 p.m. - 5 p.m. from Monday through Thursday, and will conclude camp with a scrimmage on Friday morning at 9:30. Admission is free.