clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Second City Hockey’s 2018-19 NHL Awards predictions

Here’s who our staff thinks will win hockey’s biggest annual trophies.

2018 NHL Awards Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The Blackhawks not only missed out on the playoffs last season, but the NHL’s big awards too. What will happen this season? Let’s dive into Second City Hockey’s staff predictions for the NHL’s biggest annual individual honors.

Taylor Hall came out of nowhere and won the Hart Trophy in 2018 with 39 goals and 93 points for the Devils — 41 more than his next closest teammate for the widest margin in the NHL since 2007-08. Hall beat out Avalanche center Nathan MacKinnon and Kings center Anze Kopitar for the award. Last year’s finalists aren’t receiving any love as names like Nikita Kucherov (Lightning), Connor McDavid (Edmonton) and John Tavares (Maple Leafs) are dominating the discussion.

There are some familiar faces among the picks with a few surprises. Victor Hedman (Lightning), Erik Karlsson (Sharks) and P.K. Subban (Predators) are all picked to win another Norris Trophy, while goaltender Connor Hellebuyck (Jets) is a near unanimous pick to win the Vezina Trophy. Jets head coach Paul Maurice received two votes for Jack Adams, and the staff is split between winger Andrei Svechnikov (Hurricanes) and defenseman Rasmus Dahlin (Sabres) for the Calder Trophy. The biggest surprise is no one picked Patrice Bergeron (Bruins) to win a record fifth Selke Trophy.

Here are the full picks for the SCH staff. Share your picks in the comments!

SCH’s 2018-19 NHL award picks

Voter Hart Art Ross Norris Selke Vezina Calder Rocket Richard Jack Adams
Voter Hart Art Ross Norris Selke Vezina Calder Rocket Richard Jack Adams
Brad Repplinger Connor McDavid Evgeni Malkin Victor Hedman Ryan O'Reilly Connor Hellebuyck Andrei Svechnikov Evgeni Malkin Rick Tocchet
Brandon Cain Nikita Kucherov Connor McDavid Victor Hedman Aleksander Barkov Connor Hellebuyck Andrei Svechnikov Patrik Laine Bob Boughner
Dave Melton John Tavares Connor McDavid Erik Karlsson Sean Couturier Sergei Bobrovsky Rasmus Dahlin Alex Ovechkin Paul Maurice
Nick Rogers John Tavares Patrik Laine PK Subban Anze Kopitar Connor Hellebuyck Rasmus Dahlin Connor McDavid Paul Maurice