clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Winter Classic 2019: Blackhawks to honor Tony Esposito, Bobby Hull, Stan Mikita, Denis Savard

The players will be showcased on shamrocks surrounding the rink.


The Blackhawks and Bruins will pay tribute their former players at the Winter Classic on New Year’s Day at Notre Dame Stadium in South Bend, Indiana.

Blackhawks and Bruins legends Ray Bourque, Johnny Bucyk, Tony Esposito, Bobby Hull, Stan Mikita, Bobby Orr, Denis Savard and Eddie Shore will be recognized in field decor inside the stadium, with players showcased on individual shamrocks surrounding the rink.


Bourque, Bucyk, Esposito, Hull and Savard, as well as a representative for the Mikita family, will be in attendance for a pregame ceremony and will greet the current Bruins and Blackhawks at the famed Notre Dame tunnel.

When both teams make their way into the stadium for the first time, they’ll be greeted by Notre Dame football legends, including 1987 Heisman Trophy winner Tim Brown.

Puck drop is slated for noon Central on Tuesday.