clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blackhawks prospects Evan Barratt, Ian Mitchell nominated for 2019 Hobey Baker Award

Both 2017 draft picks are up for the most outstanding player award in men’s college hockey.

United States v Slovakia - 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship Photo by Kevin Light/Getty Images

Blackhawks prospects Evan Barratt and Ian Mitchell are among 81 players eligible for the 2019 Hobey Baker Award, given annually to the most outstanding player in men’s college hockey.

Barratt, a 2017 third-round draft pick, is tied for second in the country in scoring with 30 points (13 goals, 17 assists) in 19 games during his sophomore season at Penn State. The center also had one goal in seven games for the United States en route to a silver medal at the World Junior Championship in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Mitchell has three goals and 15 points in 18 games during his sophomore campaign at the University of Denver. The 2017 second-rounder also played at the World Juniors tournament, logging one goal and three points in five games for Canada. Since returning from World Juniors, the right-handed defenseman has a goal, three assists and a plus-5 rating in four games.

The Phase I fan voting will be open until midnight Sunday, March 10. The top-10 finalists will be announced March 20, with the Phase II fan vote running until March 31 to determine the Hobey Hat Trick three finalists, which will be announced April 4.

The fans’ vote accounts for a full one percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient. Fans can cast their vote at

The winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 12, during the NCAA Frozen Four Championship in Buffalo, New York. The award ceremony will be at HarborCenter and broadcasted on NHL Network and streamed live at

The last Blackhawks draftee to win the award was Bill Watson in 1982, when he scored 109 points (49 goals, 60 assists) in 46 games during his junior season at the University of Minnesota Duluth.