clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rockford IceHogs name Tyler Sikura team captain for rest of 2019-20 season

The 27-year-old is in his third straight season with Rockford.

Tyler Sikura
Todd Reicher/Rockford IceHogs

Tyler Sikura will have a “C” on his jersey Friday when he takes the ice after he was named captain by Rockford IceHogs head coach Derek King.

Sikura takes over the role for Kris Versteeg, who mutually agreed to terminate his AHL contract with the IceHogs on Nov. 17. King did not name an official alternate captain to take Sikura’s spot and join Matthew Highmore and Jacob Nilsson, both of whom were recently called up to the NHL.

“I’m very proud and happy for Tyler, as this is an honor he has definitely earned from his three years in Rockford,” Chicago Blackhawks Vice President, Hockey Operations/Team Affiliates and IceHogs General Manager, Mark Bernard said in a release Friday. “Tyler has displayed wonderful character both on and off the ice and conducts himself in a manner in which our young prospects can learn from each day.”

The 27-year-old Sikura leads the team in goals with eight and is tied for the overall scoring lead with his younger brother, Dylan Sikura, at 12 points in 18 games. It’s Tyler’s third straight season with the IceHogs and sixth professional season overall.

“It’s something that I’ve dealt with throughout the course of my career in terms of being a leader and wearing a letter,” Tyler said earlier this month about the potential of being named captain. “I try not to change as a result of situations. Maybe I’ll have to be the guy who addresses the team instead of (Versteeg) or something like that. Ultimately, I think you’re chosen to be a leader for what you’re already doing. I’m just going to continue doing that and obviously I’m going to be a big part of that.”

Sikura is the 12th team captain during the IceHogs’ AHL affiliation with Chicago.

Jim Fahey (2007-08)

Tim Brent (2008-09)

Jake Dowell (2009-10, 2015-17)

Garnet Exelby (2010-11)

Brandon Segal (2011-12)

Brian Fahey (2011-12)

Martin St. Pierre (2012-13)

Jared Nightingale (2013-14)

Joakim Nordstrom (2014-15)

Brandon Mashinter (2015-16)

Kris Versteeg (2019)