clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Corey Crawford named Blackhawks nominee for 2019 King Clancy Trophy

A Chicago player has never won the trophy.

Chicago Blackhawks v Arizona Coyotes Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The Blackhawks named goaltender Corey Crawford as their nominee for the 2019 King Clancy Memorial Trophy, which is awarded “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

Crawford is also the Blackhawks nominee for the Bill Masterton Trophy, which is awarded annually to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Crawford received the nod for the Masterton Trophy from the Professional Hockey Writers Association’s Chicago chapter.

The King Clancy Trophy winner will be selected by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The selection committee will apply the following criteria to determine the the winner:

  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
  • Investment of time and resources
  • Commitment to a particular cause or community
  • Commitment to the League’s community initiatives (Hockey is for Everyone, Hockey Fights Cancer, Future Goals, Learn to Play, NHL Green, etc.)
  • Creativity of programming
  • Use of influence; engagement of others

A Chicago player hasn’t won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy since its inception in 1988.

The three finalists for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be announced Tuesday, April 23, and the winner will be revealed at the NHL Awards on Wednesday, June 19 at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas. In addition to the trophy, the winner will receive a $40,000 donation from the NHL Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of the winner’s choice. The two other finalists will net a $5,000 donation.