2020 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs: 5 former Blackhawks advance to conference final round

Robin Lehner recorded three shutouts to help the Golden Knights eliminate the Canucks in the second round.

Five former Blackhawks and one Chicago Steel alum have advanced to the conference final round in the Stanley Cup Playoffs, but all Chicagoland natives have been eliminated.

Western Conference

Golden Knights (Robin Lehner)

Lehner went 3-3 with each win being a shutout in a seven-game series win against the Canucks in the second round. He did not play in Game 6. He’s 8-4 with a .918 save percentage and .68 goals-saved above average in the playoffs.

Stars (Stephen Johns)

Johns remains unfit to play and hasn’t played since Aug. 11 when he had one shot in 10:02 for Dallas in a 3-2 loss to Calgary in Game 1 of the first round.

Fellow defenseman and Steel alum Jamie Oleksiak, however, had three points (one goal, two assists) in Dallas’ seven-game series win against Colorado. He had an assist in Game 1, scored into an empty net with 10 seconds remaining in the Stars’ 5-2 win in Game 2 and had an assist in Game 7.

Eastern Conference

Lightning (Jan Rutta)

Rutta has been ruled unfit to play since he had one shot on goal in 16:58 against Boston in the Stanley Cup Qualifiers on Aug. 5.

Islanders (Andrew Ladd, Nick Leddy)

Leddy had an assist in New York’s 4-3 overtime loss to Philadelphia in Game 2 of their second-round series. He has four points (two goals, two assists) in 16 playoff games this year.

Ladd is on the Islanders’ roster but has yet to play during the postseason.


Avalanche: J.T. Compher (Northbrook)

Blackhawks: Alec Regula (Steel)

Blues: MacKenzie MacEachern (Steel)

Blue Jackets: Adam Clendening

Bruins: Joakim Nordstrom; John Moore (Steel/Winnetka), Dan Vladar (Steel)

Canadiens: Phillip Danault, Dale Weise

Canucks: Tyler Motte

Capitals: Michal Kempny, Richard Panik

Coyotes: Vinnie Hinostroza (Bartlett), Niklas Hjalmarsson, Jordan Oesterle, Antti Raanta, Nick Schmaltz; Christian Dvorak (Palos), Christian Fischer (Chicago)

Flames: Erik Gustafsson

Hurricanes: Anton Forsberg, Teuvo Teravainen, Trevor van Reimsdyk; Ryan Dzingel (Wheaton), Jaccob Slavin (Steel)