Blackhawks’ Artemi Panarin named 2016 Kharlamov Trophy winner

The Chicago winger is the best Russian player from last season.

Chicago Blackhawks winger Artemi Panarin was named the 2015-16 Kharlamov Trophy winner, given annually to the best Russian hockey player.

Panarin, 24, led all NHL rookies in scoring with 77 points, goals (30) and assists (47) in 80 regular-season games to win the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s top rookie. He’s the ninth Calder winner in Blackhawks’ history.

The Kharlamov trophy was established by Sovetsky Sport in 2002, and is named after legendary Soviet player Valeri Kharlamov. Panarin is just the sixth recipient of the award, joining Sergei Fedorov (2003), Ilya Kovalchuk (2004), Alexander Ovechkin (2006-10, 14-15), Pavel Datsyuk (2011) and Evgeni MalKin (2012).

Malkin finished behind Panarin in second, followed by KHL Metallurg’s Sergei Mozyakin, Ovechkin and Nikita Kucherov.

The trophy use to serve as the ‘Best Russian NHL player award’ but this year it was changed to include Russian players from the KHL and NHL. A list of 20 nominees from the NHL and KHL is voted on by the electors of the Hall of Fame of Russian hockey, KHL general managers, Russian hockey legends, press and previous winners.

Voting results: