Already member? Login first!

Corey Crawford Tier

Full access to all premium written content

  • Deep dives on players, trades, draft picks and more as they arise
  • Prospect Reports
  • Top 25 Under 25 series
  • Our never-ending gratitude

Connor Bedard Tier

Full access to all SCH content

  • Everything in the Corey Crawford Tier, including our never-ending gratitude
  • Access to additional podcast content throughout the season
  • A welcome package of SCH merchandise
  • Additional members exclusives TBD

Comments / New

Blackhawks prospect Alex DeBrincat named 2017 CHL Player of the Year

Chicago Blackhawks prospect Alex DeBrincat added more hardware to his trophy case Saturday when he was named the 2016-17 Sportsnet’s Canadian Hockey League Player of the Year.

DeBrincat, a 2016 second-round pick by the Blackhawks, completed his third straight 100-point and 50-goal season in the Ontario Hockey League with the Erie Otters. The 19-year-old led the league with 65 goals, 62 assists and 127 points in 63 regular-season games. For a bit of perspective, that’s three goals more than Patrick Kane scored in his one season in the OHL. DeBrincat also won the Red Tilson Trophy as OHL player of the year on May 5.

DeBrincat has added 38 points (13 goals, 25 assists) in 22 postseason games. Erie plays the Windsor Spitfires in the Memorial Cup championship final Sunday.

DeBrincat beat out Anaheim prospect Sam Steel (Western Hockey League’s Regina Pats) and Columbus prospect Vitalii Abramov (Quebec Major Junior Hockey League’s Gatineau Olympiques) for the CHL’s top individual honor. Steel edged DeBrincat for the league’s scoring title by four points.

The undersized DeBrincat — listed at 5-7, 170 pounds — is the first Blackhawks prospect to win the CHL’s player of the year award. Recent winners include Toronto’s Mitch Marner in 2016 and DeBrincat’s former Otters linemate Connor McDavid in 2015.

Other award winners included:

Top Prospect Award: Nolan Patrick, Brandon Wheat Kings

Sportsman of the Year Award: Nick Suzuki, Owen Sound Attack

Humanitarian of the Year Award: Tyler Wong, Lethbridge Hurricanes

Scholastic Player of the Year Award: Alexander Chmelevski, Ottawa 67’s

Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award: Ryan McGill, Owen Sound Attack

*All players are eligible for the 2017 NHL Draft.