Blackhawks leave Nikita Zadorov unprotected for Seattle’s expansion draft

Zadorov was the most notable omission from Chicago’s list of protected players.

One notable name was not included on the list of players that the Chicago Blackhawks are protecting for Wednesday’s expansion draft.

The list was revealed Sunday morning and defenseman Nikita Zadorov was not on it, leaving him available to be selected by the Seattle Kraken. Zadorov, who is a restricted free agent, has yet to come to terms with Chicago on a new deal. On Saturday, Bruce Garrioch of the Ottawa Sun reported that the Blackhawks may even be pursuing a trade involving Zadorov:

Chicago’s protected/unprotected list contained no other surprises, though. With first and second-year players exempt, a slew of Chicago players who saw the ice last season did not have to be considered. Additionally, no-movement clauses for Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane meant that they had to be protected and the recent trade of Duncan Keith opened up a spot for a new defenseman to be protected.

Here are the 10 players on the Blackhawks protected list:

  • F Henrik Borgstrom
  • F Alex DeBrincat
  • F Brandon Hagel
  • F David Kampf
  • F Patrick Kane
  • F Dylan Strome
  • F Jonathan Toews
  • D Caleb Jones
  • D Connor Murphy
  • D Riley Stillman
  • G Kevin Lankinen/

As for the available players, it’s largely comprised of veterans in lower-line roles or fringe AHL players but does include two of the three goalies who were part of Chicago’s goalie platoon last season, with Lankinen the only goalie who could be protected.

Here are the 13 players that the Blackhawks left available to be selected by the Kraken in the expansion draft:

  • F Ryan Carpenter
  • F Brett Connolly
  • F Josh Dickinson
  • F Adam Gaudette
  • F Vinnie Hinostroza
  • F Brandon Pirri
  • F John Quenneville
  • F Zack Smith
  • D Calvin de Haan
  • D Anton Lindholm
  • D Nikita Zadorov
  • G Collin Delia
  • G Malcolm Subban/