NHL issues explanation on Marian Hossa's overturned goal

The NHL says it was overturned because interference occurred because interference occurred.

Marian Hossa scored his 495th career goal to give the Chicago Blackhawks a 1-0 lead in the first period over the Arizona Coyotes on Thursday night at Gila River Arena.

But then Arizona coach Dave Tippett requested a coach's challenge to review whether Hossa interfered with goaltender Louis Domingue before the puck entered the net.

Here's the explanation from the National Hockey League:

The Referee determined that Hossa interfered with Domingue before the puck crossed the goal line.

According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4." Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Chicago Blackhawks. Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Arizona Coyotes retain their time-out.