Blackhawks vs. Avalanche preview: Kempny returns to lineup

The Hawks look for their fourth consecutive victory as they host the Avalanche on Thursday night.

Michal Kempny returns to the lineup as the Chicago Blackhawks look to extend their three-game winning streak on Thursday night when they host the Colorado Avalanche at the United Center.

Kempny was a healthy scratch last game when Gustav Forsling returned to the lineup after missing three games with an upper-body injury. Michal Rozsival looks to be the healthy defensive scratch, while Vincent Hinostroza will sit out among the forwards.

The Blackhawks are coming off a 5-1 win against the Calgary Flames, after losing their first meeting of the season against the Flames in a shootout. On Tuesday night, the Hawks made it seem as though the poor penalty killing may be in the past, *knock on wood*. Chicago managed to kill off five penalties in Tuesday’s victory, holding their power play goals against at 15 out of 36 opportunities. They may still have the worst penalty kill percentage in the league with 58.3%, but hey, 58.3 sounds a whole lot better than 46.

Corey Crawford continues to be absolutely outstanding in the crease for the Hawks. In his last three games, he has stopped all but three of his 98 shots faced.

Along with Crawford, Artem Anisimov has been a force for Chicago. He now leads the league in points with 13 (seven goals, six assists), and has extended his point streak to a career-high eight-games.

The Avalanche have split their games so far this season for a 4-4-0 record, but have handed losses to the likes of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Dallas Stars. The Avs have struggled at home this season, but are 3-1 on the road heading into Thursday’s game at the United Center.

For more on the Avalanche, check out Mile High Hockey.




Richard Panik – Jonathan Toews – Patrick Kane
Artemi Panarin – Artem Anisimov – Marian Hossa
Ryan Hartman – Marcus Kruger – Tyler Motte
Dennis Rasmussen – Nick Schmaltz – Jordin Tootoo


Duncan Keith – Brian Campbell
Michal Kempny – Brent Seabrook
Gustav Forsling – Niklas Hjalmarsson


Corey Crawford



Gabriel Landeskog – Matt Duchene – Jarome Iginla
Mikhail Grigorenko – Nathan Mackinnon – Mikko Rantanen
Rene Bouque – Carl Soderberg – Blake Comeau
Andreas Martinsen – John Mitchell – Joe Colborne


Nikita Zadorov – Erik Johnson
Francois Beauchemin – Tyson Barrie
Patrick Wiercioch – Fedor Tyutin


Semyon Varlamov

*Lineups will be updated if necessary