Second City Hockey’s NHL award predictions

Here’s who our staff thinks will win hockey’s biggest annual trophies.

The Blackhawks missed out on the NHL’s big awards a year after Patrick Kane and Artemi Panarin took the Hart and Calder, respectively. What will happen this season? Let’s dig into our staff’s predictions for hockey’s biggest annual individual honors.

Connor McDavid won his first Hart Trophy in 2017 with an impressive 30-goal, 100-point campaign. His ability to make plays at dizzying speed is unparalleled, and at age 21, he’s unsurprisingly the favorite to win league MVP again. It would take a monster year from someone like Kane or Sidney Crosby to get voters to look elsewhere.

There are lots of other familiar faces among the picks. Patrice Bergeron remains in his prime as the league’s premier two-way center. Carey Price is still a popular choice for anyone trying to figure out who will be the league’s top goaltender. Picking a coach of the year is still more or less looking at which team you predicted to break out.

Here are the full picks for our writers, including myself. Please share your picks in the comments!

2017-18 NHL award predictions

VoterHartNorrisCalderSelkeVezinaJack AdamsArt RossRocket RichardGM of the Year
Satchel PriceConnor McDavidVictor HedmanClayton KellerPatrice BergeronCorey CrawfordKen HitchcockConnor McDavidVladimir TarasenkoRon Francis
Brandon CainConnor McDavidVictor HedmanDylan StromePatrice BergeronCarey PricePaul MauriceConnor McDavidNikita KucherovJohn Chayka
Brad RepplingerAuston MatthewsBrent BurnsDylan StromeRyan KeslerPekka RinneTodd McLellanAuston MatthewsConnor McDavidLou Lamoriello
Dave MeltonConnor McDavidErik KarlssonAlex DeBrincatPatrice BergeronCarey PriceClaude JulienSidney CrosbyConnor McDavidLou Lamoriello
Jenna WillsConnor McDavidBrent BurnsDylan StromePatrice BergeronCarey PriceMike BabcockConnor McDavidSidney CrosbyLou Lamoriello
Liz McNeillConnor McDavidErik KarlssonNolan PatrickPatrice BergeronBraden HoltbyDave HakstolConnor McDavidAuston MatthewsLou Lamoriello
Mario TirabassiConnor McDavidErik KarlssonAlex DeBrincatPatrice BergeronBraden HoltbyTodd McLellanConnor McDavidNikita KucherovLou Lamoriello
Carolyn HorneAuston MatthewsErik KarlssonAlex DeBrincatPatrice BergeronCorey Crawfordn/an/an/an/a
Peter ElliottConnor McDavidVictor HedmanCharlie McAvoyPatrice BergeronBraden HoltbyMike BabcockConnor McDavidConnor McDavidLou Lamoriello